Delhi Capitals beat Mumbai Indians by six wickets

In-form opener Shikhar Dhawan made a measured 45 from 42 balls to help the Delhi Capitals lhome to a tense, six-wicket victory against defending champions Mumbai Indians with five balls to spare in their IPL match at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Tuesday.

Veteran legspinner, Amit Mishra, claimed 4-24 to restrict Mumbai to a modest 137-9 and the Delhi batsmen adopted a cautious approach during the run chase which threatened to derail their quest for victory.

Former Australia captain, Steve Smith, contributed 33 from 29 balls (4×4) and Lalit Yadav finished unbeaten on 22 from 25 deliveries but it required some last minute nerve and muscle from Guyanan left hander Shimron Hetmyer (14* from 9 balls) to get the Capitals over the line.

Earlier Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma top scored with 44 but watched his team lose five wickets for just 17 runs between the seventh and 11th overs to collapse from 67-1 to 84-6 before recovering to 137-9 after winning the toss and electing to bat first.

Rohit and Suryakumar Yadav (24 from 15 balls) made light of the early loss of Quinton de Kock (1) who was caught behind by Rishabh Pant off the bowling of Marcus Stoinis. Their partnership of 58 came at almost 10 runs an over.

But Suryakumar’s attempt to run the ball to third man against seamer Avesh Khan ended in the gloves of Pant and the wheels fell off the innings.

Rohit’s 44 from 30 balls (3×4, 3×6) ended with a lofted drive against legspinner Amit Mishra into the hands of Steve Smith at long off and Hardik Pandya made exactly the same mistake to depart first ball.

Mishra produced a stunning googly which pitched almost a foot outside off stump before fizzing back to trap Kieron Pollard (2) lbw which ended Mumbai’s hopes of a more substantial total.

The teams had identical records before the match having won two matches and lost one but Delhi now move to the top of the log alongside Royal Challengers Bangalore, albeit having played one match more.

Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Steven Smith, Rishabh Pant (captain), Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmyer, Lalit Yadav, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kagiso Rabada, Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan

Mumbai Indians: Quinton de Kock, Rohit Sharma (captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Rahul Chahar, Jayant Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Follow by Email