Chiefs celebrate Chincha’s 77th in fine style

Kaizer Chiefs (2) 4 ( 10. Dolly 12’, 31, 11. Billiat 70’, 7. L. Kambole 90+1’)

Chippa United (0) 0

Amakhosi celebrated Kaizer Chiefs Chairman Kaizer Motaung’s 77th birthday in fine style with a dominant 4-0 win against Chippa United in their DStv Premiership clash at the FNB Stadium this evening.

Chiefs gave Chincha Guluva much to celebrate with a lively, attacking display the Chiefs Chairman would have been proud of to put the icing on his birthday cake.

Keegan Dolly and Khama Billiat were unstoppable in an excellent team performance, which saw Chiefs in devastating form in both defence and attack.

Dolly, beautifully set up by Billiat, scored a first half brace and returned the favour in the second half by setting up Billiat, with Lazalous Kambole scoring a late fourth as Amakhosi picked up all three points.

In just the first minute of the game visiting skipper Lubeni Haukongo hacked down Billiat in an off-the-ball incident, to give an indication of Chippa’s physical approach.

It was a duel between the two that was to go on all game long, but one that Billiat would ultimately emerge the victor in.

It was the visitors, though, who conjured up the first opportunity of the game in the 7th minute, when Njabulo Ngcobo was dispossessed on the halfway line. The ball found its way to Thokozani Sekotlong who stole a march on the Chiefs defense and launched an effort at goal from distance, which went wide of Daniel Akpeyi’s right hand upright.

A few minutes later Chippa United continued to pressure Chiefs, with Athini Jodwana having a blast at goal from distance, but Akpeyi managed to stand his ground and made the save.

After Chippa’s early flurry, Chiefs soon turned the tide. Khama Billiat was able to dispossess Veluyeke Zulu and raced forward, before picking out Dolly with a well-timed pass. Dolly managed to get to the ball ahead of Riaan Hanamub, before slamming it past Chippa keeper Rashid Watnega in the 12th minute for the game’s opening goal.

Chiefs laid siege to the Chippa goal once again after a corner from the right eventually found its way to Billiat, who unleashed a venomous looping shot which had Watenga looping up into the air to push the ball over for a corner.

Just past the half-hour mark Chiefs doubled their lead, after a sublime through ball from Billiat had the Chippa defence waiting in vain for the offside flag to go up on Bernard Parker, who left the ball and allowed an onside Dolly to run onto it.

After shrugging off the attentions of Siphesihle Mkhize, with a clear sight of goal from just outside the Chippa 18 yard area and with a good piece of skill, Dolly curled the ball expertly around Watenga to put Chiefs 2-0 up.

With halftime approaching Akpeyi managed to make a save from Siphesihle Mkhize’s shot which took a deflection and looked to be heading in before the Chiefs keeper managed to compose himself and make a difficult save.

Amakhosi took a 2-0 lead into the break.

Chiefs came out of the blocks in the second half looking to push further ahead and six minutes after the restart Phathutshedzo Nange managed to win possession and played a one-two with Dolly on his right, but Nange’s final attempt at goal lacked real power and he rolled the ball to Watenga, who managed to make a routine save.

Just before the hour mark Sekotlong managed to beat the Chiefs off-side trap and raced past Mathoho. As he got close on goal he let fly, trying to beat Akpeyi at his near post, but the Chiefs keeper was up to the challenge and made a telling block to avert the danger.

It was Chiefs, though, who would put the game to bed and all but sealed the points when Dolly turned provider and set up Billiat in the 70th minute, who from the right drove the ball across goal beating Watenga to make it 3-0 to Chiefs.

On 75 minutes Njabulo Ngcobo made a brave tackle to stop Ngele from scoring from close range, with the ball eventually cleared by Thabani Dube. Ngcobo had to leave the field and needed treatment after this passage of play.

Substitute Kambole turned the ball home late into referees’ added time at the end of the game, as Chiefs recorded their biggest win of the campaign.

It is a victory that sees Chiefs climb from the bottom half of the table up into 8th place after a welcome win for Amakhosi, as they celebrated the Club Chairman’s birthday with a stylish win.

Fact of the Game – This was the 17th league game between Chiefs and Chippa. It was Amakhosi’s 9th win against them and their fifth in nine home league games. It is also the first time Chiefs had scored three goals against Chippa and was their biggest victory against them.

Number of the Game 5 – Stuart Baxter as Chiefs coach has won all five of his league meetings against Chippa United. This was the fourth time that Amakhosi had scored two or more goals in those games. They have scored 11 goals in these games without conceding a goal.

MVP – Chiefs’ midfielders were simply unstoppable in this game with Billiat, Dolly and Nange all running riot. The visitors were unable to contain them as they were working the ball around well with Billiat and Dolly taking their chances with clinical finishes.

Dolly was named as the Man of the Match, his second such accolade in the DStv Premiership this campaign as Chiefs strolled home with a good team effort which saw Bernard Parker play in his 264th league game for Chiefs, going joint fourth on the list of Chiefs players who have made the most number of league appearances for the club in the PSL era as he joined for Chiefs midfielder Tinashe Nengomasha on 264 league games.

Line Ups

Chiefs: 40. D. Akpeyi, 39. R. Frosler (26. S. Mabiliso 80’), 27. Nj Ngcobo, 3. E. Mathoho, 29. T. Dube, 45. N. Blom, 12. Nk. Ngcobo (5. A. Agay 66’), 24. P. Nange, 25. B. Parker, 10. K. Dolly, 11. K. Billiat (7. L. Kambole 86’).

Subs Not Used: 1. B. Petersen, 4. D. Cardoso, 2. M. Mphahlele, 6. K. Baccus, 19. H. Mashiane, 33. S. Radebe.

Cautions: 39. R. Frosler 34’

Coach: Stuart Baxter

Chippa United: 19. R. Watenga, 3. A. Jodwana, 4. R. Hanamub ( 22. J. Dickens 69’), 5. R. Pietersen, 14. S. Mkhize, 15. L. Haukongo, 17. T. Sekotlong ( 9. E.N. Bienvenu 64’), 24. V. Zulu ( 29. S. Mthethwa 46’), 26. B. Sangare ( 10. Mokhele 46’), 27. K. Leintjies  (11. M. Ngele 46’), 28. T. Lebitso

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Follow by Email