Pitso Al Ahly’s Al Ahly surrender Egyptian title to Zamalek

Pitso Mosimane and Al Ahly’s Egyptian Premier League title hopes have been dashed as they drew 3-3 with El Gouna on Tuesday, leaving Zamalek to win the title with a 2-0 triumph over El-Entag El-Harby.

Before their away draw, much of the lingering optimism surrounding the Red Devils’ faint title hopes had centred around the fact that they had favourable fixtures, while the leaders may drop points in their games.

Nonetheless, that hope faded into thin air as the White Knight secured an impressive home win which rendered Ahly’s result irrelevant.

Mosimane’s side made it 3-1 after 80 minutes when Mohamed Sherif, who made his first game since his injury, completed a perfect counter.

Al Ahly conceded another goal in the 87th minute after Ali Lofti was beaten from a well-placed shot from inside the box. Matters from bad to worse in the 98th minute when El Gouna received a penalty to make a 3-3.


Egyptian Premier League powerhouse Zamalek have lifted their 13th league title after beating Entag El-Harby 3-0 in the penultimate game of the season.

It took Zamalek only six minutes to open the scoring through Ahmed Sayed Zizo, marking his ninth league goal this season. Shikabala played a through ball to Achraf Bencharki inside the penalty area, the latter then played the ball back to Zizo who placed it in the back of the net.

Shikabala once again played a great ball behind the Entag defense but Bencharki’s lob was to powerful and went over the bar.

Three minutes before the half-time whistle, center back Mahmoud Hamdy El-Wensh took a powerful header but his effort went wide.

Zizo nearly doubled the score in the 52nd minute but his close range effort grazed El-Ghandour’s right post. Two minutes later, Entag had their first clear cut chance of the game through Hassan Yassin but his long range shot was easily caught by Mohamed Abogabal.

Shikabala and Zizo proved to once again the main source of danger for the White Knights after exchanging passes inside the penalty are but the latter skied his shot, in the 67th minute.

Bencharki sealed the deal in the 88th minute after Hamza Mathoulthi found Bencharki inside the penalty area who headed it past El-Ghandour and scored his 14th goal of the season.

Tarek Hamed got the opportunity to score his side’s third from the penalty spot in the 93rd minute but his shot hit the crossbar

This marks Zamalek’s 13th league title and their first one since the 2014/2015 season. Only six players from that squad are still among the Whites’ ranks which are: Mahmoud Gennesh, Mohamed Abogabal, Mohamed Abdelshafy, Tarek Hamed, Ayman Hefny and Youssef Obama.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Follow by Email